A game of two lingos: a UK player’s verdict on football v soccer

A Sent Her Forward exclusive on football on both sides of the Atlantic

Charlotte Barnham playing in the US (Photo: Mount Saint Vincent Sports Information)

Charlotte Barnham finished the team’s second-top scorer and leading provider (Photo: Mount Saint Vincent Sports Information)

Charlotte Barnham, captain of SECWL Premier side South Park, has just returned from a term at a New York college, which included playing “soccer” in the Skyline Conference – a league for the city’s college teams.

It was a life-changing experience for the 21-year-old from Reigate, who has given Sent Her Forward her assessment on the differences between the beautiful game in the US and UK. 

Charlotte, who studies history at St Mary’s University, Twickenham, spent a semester at the College of Mount Saint Vincent, in the Bronx, where she not only continued her history studies – but also experienced the intensive coaching and playing environment of the college “soccer” team.

This is her story.

Anyone who knows me is fully aware of my passion for football and my dedication and love for South Park FC, who I have represented for over 10 years now.

Leaving Reigate, knowing I was missing half a season with my South Park team, was very difficult, but looking back, it is something I do not regret for a single second.

The difference between English ladies’ football and American women’s soccer is far more than I ever anticipated.

When I first arrived in America I had a matter of hours to settle in before I set off for the first pre-season training session, or “practise”, as they would say.

I took an immediate shine to the head coach, Giuseppe Pennetti (Coach Joe), whose help during my stay is something I could never repay. Coach Joe, along with assistant coaches Billy Ellias and Sarah Collettii, led the pre-season, which consisted of two solid weeks of double “practises” daily.

I can honestly say in all my years of playing football in England I had never experienced such intense physical activity, but I loved every minute – even the ice baths that followed the practises.

My ‘cleats’ discovery

The first couple of minutes in that water is something I will never forget.

From day one I noticed huge differences between the American and English approaches to the sport.

Even the terminology differed.

Charlotte Barnham (Photo: College of Mount Saint Vincent)

“Even if I knew which was best, I wouldn’t admit it” (Photo: College of Mount Saint Vincent)

One of the first instructions Coach Joe gave us was to put our “cleats” on.

My reaction at first was, oh no, I don’t have cleats (whatever they are). But when everyone started to put their football boots on I realised I had just learnt my first American soccer lingo.

It was extremely hot during the practises. For me, the heat in New York was too much, and it’s not something that I would like to experience again. Apart from getting a great tan, I did not care for the temperature much at all.

The humidity was another issue. It literally felt like I was breathing in a sauna most games.

Something special

A more positive difference was the playing surface. I rarely played on grass while I was there. We played on 3G pitches nearly every game.

This was fantastic to play on – no mud or dodgy pitches with holes that risked a broken ankle every game. This allowed for more consistent passing, with a permanent smooth surface that you could rely on every game.

The games themselves were an absolute pleasure to be a part of. From the American national anthem at the beginning to the fans clapping at the final whistle, it really made you feel like you were a part of something special.

Charlotte Barnham’s US college season

Matches Assists Goals Shots Shots on target On target (%)
19 8 8 52 33 63.5

In general the seriousness of soccer fascinated me. It was something I appreciated and enjoyed so much. From the officials to ball boys/girls, everyone made me feel welcome.

I was concerned that my nationality would attract attention. At times it did, but only on a few occasions was the attention negative. I lost count of how many times I would shout something mid-game – for example, encouragement to my team mates – and one of the opposition would literally stop in their tracks, turn to me and say: “Wait, are you British?”

The temptation to reply, “No, I’m from Florida” was always there, but I always proudly spoke as “English” as possible and confirmed their suspicions instead.

More pride

The referees seemed to be a tad biased, if I’m honest. I say this with no disrespect, but I felt they would often sway towards the home side.

During the warm-up for games we would always have music blasting through the speakers, which did help pump everyone up for the games.

In general, I feel the players had a lot more pride: each and every one of them wanted to be there, representing their college, giving it their all.

One particular difference stood out to me. When I called for the ball by saying my name, as is the norm in England, the American girls looked at me like I was strange. In America, shouting “mine” is still acceptable, whereas in England we all know that a name must be put on the call for the ball.

Even when I explained to them why shouting your name was more beneficial they stuck to their ways!

Charlotte played a large role in our success this year, leading the team in assists (8) and posting 24 points after adding eight goals – Mike Doughty, assistant director of athletics, College of Mount Saint Vincent

The season went extremely well for the College of Mount Saint Vincent women’s soccer programme. Coach Joe really turned it around (the team finished fifth in its conference and reached the Conference Tournament for the first time), and I am proud to have been a huge part of that.

The girls I played with were incredible – some of the best players I have ever been lucky enough to play alongside. I made some friends for life.

Charlotte Barnham playing for South Park

Barnham can’t wait to help South Park climb the table again (Photo: Simon Roe)

Since I have been back home, several people have asked me if I preferred playing in the States or here in Surrey.

The question is difficult, and I don’t think I could answer. Even if I knew deep down, I wouldn’t admit it.

Best I’ve ever played

One thing is for sure: the passion and dedication in America towards soccer is unbelievable, while the natural ability and creativity of ladies’ football in England is exceptional.

Unfortunately, while I was away South Park struggled for results, but I hope we can change it around in the remainder of the season.

Comparing the South Park season when we won the league and the cup back in 2011 with the season I had in America is very difficult.

That season with South Park was unbelievable and one of the best times of my life.

But the season I had in America is the best I have ever played and the greatest thing I did while I was in America.

Is there an answer as to which is best? I’m not sure. All I know is, If I told you, I would have to kill you.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.